What is WMARSS?

The Waco Metropolitan Area Regional Sewer System (WMARSS) is a joint wastewater treatment effort by the cities of:

  • Bellmead
  • Hewitt
  • Lacy Lakeview
  • Lorena
  • Robinson
  • Waco
  • Woodway

By sharing centralized regional service facilities, WMARSS has helped to reduce the potential environmental impact of multiple wastewater treatment facilities and protect and preserve our natural resources.  Wastewater collection by the regional system has also helped to reduce the costs associated with treatment, thereby assisting WMARSS participating cities in maintaining affordable rates for customers.

WMARSS has undergone two major modification and enlargement programs.  In 1970, the Brazos River Authority (BRA) acquired the plant from the City and conducted two additional plant enlargements which were partially funded by EPA grants.  In February 2004, the WMARSS coalition was formed when the Wastewater Treatment Plant was reacquired from BRA